I Used to Love H.E.R.–Ironman

I had fun, bust your back, yo I speak with thunder

Over at the very spiffy blog So Much Silence, I was graciously asked to take part in their ongoing segment “I Used to Love H.E.R.” where artists from all genres talk about the most essential hip hop recording in their lives.

As much music as I consume and create on a weekly basis, it feels good to hang my hat on my favorite album ever recorded, Ghostface Killah’s 1996 debut Ironman.  As much as I try to memorize verses from Heltah Skeltah, Joe Budden, or Royce 5’9”, I’ll never forget “Yo bitch I fucked your friend, yeah you stank hoe, I seen her on the elevator, honey grabbed my Kangol!”

Read my thoughts on Ironman over at So Much Silence

And if you had it on cassette or lent it to your high school girlfriend’s brother and he got robbed for his Nautica fleece with the walkman inside it bumping “Winter Warz,” fear not…you can cop the cd for under $7 at Half.com

Have a mothafuckin’ ultra melodic crunch dusted Alize day, god!

4 thoughts on “I Used to Love H.E.R.–Ironman

  1. A Golgo 13 reference?!? You just made my week.

    I was never the biggest fan of Ironman – for some reason my attention begins to wane two-thirds of the way through – but these days I’d listen to it over Supreme Clientele any day.

  2. That’s my favorite song on the whole CD with the exception of Camay. I know (or knew) every word to every song on that CD. Also, re: Floodwatch’s comment: I listen to Supreme Clientele pretty much EVERYDAY! I’ve bought – actually purchased – Ironman at least 3 times since ’96. I’d have to vote it “most gankable cd” ever. If I had it, I’d prob listen to it way more often, but Supreme Clientele is the shit. Not every track’s a banger but 1- 12 I can listen to without touching shit.

  3. Ghostface Killah’s “Ironman” is one of my all-time favorite Hip Hop LP’s. I felt as though he were speaking directly to me on much of that album. I really need to write a blog about my emcee days some time. Maybe I’ll title it “My So Called Rappity Rappin’ Ass Life” or “Ghostwriting For Assholes” or something to that effect. I get back to you with details later.

    LOL.

    One.

Leave a Reply

