I’m the Newest Member of the iStandard Gang

Rejected storyboard from the film "King Ralph"

I told you earlier this year that ClapCowards would be doing less original content and editorials ’cause big things would be poppin’.  Today I can finally say what that big thing is (no fishsticks): I’m now an online contributor to iStandardProducers.com. 

I feel like Peter Gammons when he left the Boston Globe to join ESPN.com.   Or Jay Mohr when he left BlizzCon 2007 to write for Fox Sports Net.

What does that mean to you, faithful reader of ClapCowards?  Well, I’ve been given free reign to do more production-based blogs over at iStandardProducers.com as well as editing interviews with upcoming producers and generally talk about whatever the heck I want as long as it’s beat related (the beauty of Q-Tip’s snares, the danger in El-P’s embrace of the Triton, why I need to kidnap the cat who made “Quiet Dog” on Mos Def’s new outstanding album The Ecstatic and water board him for those hand claps).

If you’re following me on Twitter or Facebook, I’ll be sending out a few blasts each week on iStandard articles and news.  I will do my best to keep things personalized and interesting though; I have no interest in being a full-time promoter or spammer.  If you feel like I’m beginning to overdo it with the promo, feel free to let me know.  The last thing I want to do is become an MC/producer/label head/engineer/blogger/online contributor/hip hopper you unfollow on Twitter  .

In this day and age of Charles Hamilton and the Web 2.0 MC, I find it difficult to balance the approach of being accessible and visible while shutting the eff up and focusing on the craft.  Since we’re making it up as we go along, and because technology changes seeminly every 3 months (note to the Beeper King: technology is NOT cyclical), it’s unnerving to have a comfortable routine on MySpace…then uprooting it for the blog…then modifying it for Facebook….then obsessivly Tweeting the mundane details of a slice of pizza and cup of rootbeer. 

The bottom line is that I don’t want to oversaturate you–this is about music and dialgoue, after all, two things I love more than anything.  I’m extremely excited to be working with iStandard, as I’ve watched first hand the past two years just how much good they do for hip hop and the people who love it, follow it, and want to make a living from it (myself included).  We’re also kicking things up a notch at Beat Garden with new artists to introduce and a new website that will be more media heavy and possibly be a one-stop shop.  My random incoherent thoughts on why Quaker Oates doesn’t induce outrage from the religious right (look at the logo and name–like people would be fine with “Islam Oates”) might not ever get the full blog post treatment.

I’ve received WAY more hits on this blog then I ever could have imagined in the past year and 1 month since the inception, and I never take for granted the comments, links, and responses I get.  I’m still trying to figure out how to juggle all of these keypads, logins, status updates, etc. with beats, rhymes, and life.  

At least I’m not getting punched in the mouth on YouTube by shitty “slam” poets.

2 thoughts on “I’m the Newest Member of the iStandard Gang

  1. In the now words of now faded rock star William Axl Rose, “Welcome to the Jungle, we’ve got fun and games…”

Leave a Reply

